The ITIL 2011 best practice is composed of five core disciplines: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operations and Continual Service Improvement. These disciplines represent a service life cycle framework that further enhances alignment to the business while demonstrating business value, ROI and enabling IT to solve specific operational needs.


Learning Objectives:

At the end of this course, you will be able to:

  • Identify the key principles and concepts of IT Service Management.
  • Identify benefits of implementing ITIL on organization. .
  • Identify the Service Management processes and how they map to the Service Lifecycle.
  • Identify the basic concepts and definitions related to the Service Lifecycle.
  • Identify the activities and roles involved with the Service Lifecycle.
  • Identify the relationship of each component of the Service Lifecycle and how they map to other components.
  • Identify the factors that affect the effectiveness of the Service Lifecycle.


Course Description:

This exciting and dynamic 6-day course introduces learners to the lifecycle of managing IT services to deliver to business expectations. As well as an engaging, case study based approach to learning the core disciplines of the ITIL best practice, this course also positions the student to successfully complete the associated exam, required for entry into the future ITIL 2011 intermediate level training courses.



  • IT Management,
  • IT Support Staff,
  • IT Consultants,
  • Business Managers,
  • Business Process Owners,
  • IT Developers,
  • Service Providers,
  • System Integrators and all IT or Computer Sciences students and graduates.




Course Outlines


Day 1

  • Introduction to ITIL
  • Module 1: Introduction to Service Management Lifecycle

 Principles of Service Management,
Processes, The ITIL Service Lifecycle

1 hour

Day 2

  • Module 2: Service Strategy

 Concepts and Models, Processes

3 hours

Day 3

  • Module 3: Service Design

 Concepts and Models, Key Principles, Processes

3 hours

Day 4

  • Module 4: Service Transition

 Concepts and Models, Key Principles, Processes

3 hours

Day 5

  • Module 5: Service Operations

 Concepts and Models, Key Principles, Processes and Functions

3 hours

Day 6

  • Module 6: Continual Service Improvement

 Concepts and Models, Key Principles, Processes

  • Module 7: Summary and Exam Preparation

 Review of Key Concepts and Practice Exam

2 hours
1 hours